Join today! Members log in now!


No 1st-teamers

Analysis: FAU doesn't place any players on the Sun Belt Conference's All-Sun Belt team, but does have three players on the second team.

Originally published on 12/5/2012

by Marcus Nelson

It is all the rage to bash the Sun Belt Conference these days, and I've certainly had an opinion on the conference lately, but this time the Sun Belt Conference got it right.

Florida Atlantic placed three players on the All-Sun Belt Conference second team, but didn't have any players make the first team for the second consecutive season.

There just weren't that many players who play for FAU that made a good case to the media and coaches who vote who should be on the All-Sun Belt team.

FAU junior wide receiver William Dukes, junior tight end Nexon Dorvilus and senior safety Brentley Harstad were named to the All-Sun Belt Conference second team and that's probably where they belong - although Dukes was really coming on strong at the end.

Junior receiver Daniel McKinney and sophomore linebacker Andrae Kirk earned Sun Belt Honorable mention honors.

A side note - FAU running back Alfred Morris was on the second team last season, if that tells you anything.

After a 3-8 season in 2012, I would look for a better record next season, along with some players on the All-Sun Belt team.

Here is the complete All-Sun Belt Conference team as announced Wednesday by the conference office.

Individual Awards

Player of the Year

Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, Sr., QB)

 Offensive Player of the Year

Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr., QB)

 Defensive Player of the Year

Quanterus Smith (WKU, Sr., DL)

 Freshman of the Year

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Fr., WR)

 Coach of the Year

Todd Berry, Louisiana-Monroe

 First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Ryan Aplin (Arkansas State, Sr., QB)

David Oku (Arkansas State, Jr., RB)

Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr., RB)
Brent Leonard (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr., WR)

Anthony Amos (Middle Tennessee, r-Sr., WR)

Chip Reeves (Troy, WR, Sr.)

Jack Doyle (WKU, Sr., TE)

Zack McKnight (Arkansas State, Sr., OL)

Micah James (Middle Tennessee, Sr., OL)

Aaron Fortenberry (North Texas, Sr., OL)

Kyle Wilborn (Troy, Sr., OL)

Adam Smith (WKU, Sr., OL)

First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Ryan Carrethers (Arkansas State, Jr., DL)

Tourek Williams (FIU, Sr., DL)

Emeka Onyenekwu (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., DL)

Quanterus Smith (WKU, Sr., DL)

Nathan Herrold (Arkansas State, Sr., LB)

Jake Johnson (South Alabama, Sr., LB)

Andrew Jackson (WKU, Jr., LB)

Johnathan Cyprien (FIU, Sr., DB)

Jemarlous Moten (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., DB)

Brynden Trawick (Troy, Sr., DB)

Jonathan Dowling (WKU, So., DB)

 First Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

Brett Baer Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., K)
Brett Baer Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., P)
Reggie Whatley (Middle Tennessee, r-So., Return Specialist)
Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr., All Purpose)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Offense

Kolton Browning (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr., QB)

Benny Cunningham (Middle Tennessee, Sr., RB)

Shawn Southward (Troy, RB, Sr.)

J.D. McKissic (Arkansas State, Fr., WR)

William Dukes (Florida Atlantic, So, WR)

Harry Peoples (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., WR)

Nexon Dorvilus (Florida Atlantic, Jr, TE)

Caylin Hauptmann (FIU, Sr., OL)

Leonardo Bates (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL)

Jonathon Gill (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr., OL)

Andrew Huval (Louisiana-Lafayette, Jr., OL)

Josh Allen (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., OL)

Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Defense

Tim Starson (Arkansas State, Sr., DL)

Omar McLendon (Middle Tennessee, Sr., DL)

Alex Page (South Alabama, Jr., DL)

R.J. Young (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr., LB)

Tony Davis (Troy, Sr., DL)

Zach Orr (North Texas, Jr., LB)

Kanorris Davis (Troy, Sr., LB)

Brent Harstad (Florida Atlantic, Sr., DB)

Isaiah Newsome (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Jr., DB)

Kevin Byard (Middle Tennessee, r-Fr., DB)

Zac Whitfield (North Texas, Fr., DB)

 Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference Special Teams

Brian Davis (Arkansas State, Jr., K)

Will Atterberry (North Texas, Sr., P)

Deon Anthony (Troy, Jr., All Purpose)

Antonio Andrews (WKU, Jr., RS)

All-Sun Belt Conference Honorable Mention

Taylor Stockemer (Arkansas State, Sr., WR); Qushaun Lee (Arkansas State, So., LB); Daniel McKinney (Florida Atlantic, Jr., WR); Andrae Kirk (Florida Atlantic, So., LB); Rupert Bryan (FIU, Sr., OL); Jose Cheeseborough (FIU, Sr., DB); Terrance Broadway (Louisiana-Lafayette, So., QB); Jaron Odom (Louisiana-Lafayette, Sr., OL); Je’Ron Hamm (Louisiana-Monroe, Jr., WR); DaCorris Ford (Louisiana-Monroe, r-Sr., LB); Logan Kilgore (Middle Tennessee, r-Jr., QB); Josh Walker (Middle Tennessee, r-Jr., OL);  Cyril Lemon (North Texas, So., OL);  Mason Y’Barbo (North Texas, So., OL); Enrique Williams (South Alabama, Jr., LB); B.J. Scott (South Alabama, Sr., DB); Corey Robinson (Troy, Jr., QB); Eric Thomas (Troy, WR, Jr.); Kawaun Jakes (WKU, Sr., QB); Jamarcus Allen (WKU, Sr., DL)




Discuss this story in our message boards

Bookmark this article:
Add to Bloglines Add to Add to digg Add to Facebook Add to Fark Add to Google Bookmarks Add to Netscape Add to reddit Add to Slashdot Add to Stumble Upon Add to Technorati Add to Yahoo My Web